Excellence in Reporting Awards

Excellence in Grand Jury Reporting (EIR) Award and/or Excellence in Grand Jury Media Coverage Awards


View all 2022 EIR Award Nominations.  See Past Awards for a listing of past recipients.

See the 2022 EIR Award winning report from 2020-2021 San Francisco County Grand Jury on Van Ness Avenue - What Lies Beneath.

The 2022 EIR Award for Grand Jury Media Coverage earned by Genoa Barrow for her extensive, unbiased, and continuing coverage of the grand jury's investigative report "Sacramento County Board of Supervisors Abandons Responsibility for Covid-19 CARES Act Spending."

When the awards are announced:
The annual awards, with appropriate recognition, are presented at the CGJA Annual Conference in the fall of every year.

Award criteria

Printer-friendly instructions

Grand Jury Reporting Award:
Significance of the issue, topic rationale.
Clear description of the investigation.
Findings follow from facts, recommendations based on the findings.
Clarity of the language, objectivity and fairness.
Identified problems accompanied by suggested means for resolution.
Impact on the citizenry.
Difficulty of the investigation.
Media coverage.
Agency acknowledgement.
Changes resulting from the report.

Download the Best Report evaluation form (PDF)

Grand Jury Media Coverage Award:
Nominations may be based on the coverage of a specific grand jury report or on the overall
coverage given to a grand jury throughout the year.

The criteria for the Media Coverage Award include:
Increased awareness of the county's current or most recent civil grand jury
Reported on the responses to grand jury report(s)
Educated community about the civil grand jury system in general
Covered the important basis of the grand jury report(s)
In-depth reporting vs superficial account
Extensive reporting (e.g., one-time verses multiple accounts and/or audience reach)
Additional points for information on obtaining reports, applying for and submitting complaints to the grand jury

Download the Best Media Coverage evaluation form (PDF)

Requirements and limitations:

Nominations may be made only by a CGJA Chapter or Association for its county. Where there is no Chapter or Association, nominations may be made by a CGJA member who resides in the county.  A county may nominate only one grand jury report and one news media coverage topic per year. A single grand jury report may be the subject of both awards.  The nominated report must have been published within the preceding five years -- thereby allowing sufficient time for responses and implementation.

Nominations must be submitted online by going to this link:

Detailed instructions and Link to NOMINATION FORM