ANGELO ROLANDO SERVICE AWARD HISTORY

The history behind this prestigious Angelo Rolando Service Award came into being when Angelo Rolando, the true Patriarch of CGJA, traveled the length of the State in 1979, trying to create a California Grand Jurors Association. Angelo's message made an impression on the folks in San Diego because after their term in office was finished in 1979-80, they sent out a notice to all of those from Southern California Counties to attend the organizational meetings.

Following the untimely death of Angelo Rolando, then President Fran Jansen asked Jack Kramp to chair a committee to establish a proper memorial award in his honor. Committee members were Jane Allen and Evelyn Maloy appointed by the Vice President, South region and Barbara Thomsen and Dorothy Freye appointed by the Vice President, North region. The committee set up simple but precise rules to select the winner and design a unique and attractive award. Within a few years, the Angelo Rolando Service Award has developed into the highest award of distinction to honor one member who has performed outstanding service to the California Grand Jurors Association.

This annual award is presented at the CGJA Annual Conference (preferably at the banquet) by the CGJA President and Awards committee representative.

PAST RECIPIENTS of the ANGELO ROLANDO SERVICE AWARD

	2023	2022	2021
	Lou Panetta	Barbara Sommer	Larry Herbst
	Monterey County	Yolo County	San Luis Obispo County
2020	2019	2018	2017
Dianne Hoffman	Lloyd Bell	Ray Frisbie	Karin Hern
Orange County	Contra Costa County	Shasta County	Marin County
2016	2015	2014	2013
Jim Ragan	Owen Haxton	Karen Jahr	Diane Dame' Shepp
San Luis Obispo County	Marin County	Shasta County	Napa County
2012	2011	2010	2009
Dan Mufson	Marsha Caranci	Diane Masini	Jerry Lewi
Napa County	Shasta County	Nevada County	Ventura County
2008	2007	2006	2005
Betty Mattea	Bob Geiss	Ron Miguel	Ourania Riddle
Marin County	Orange County	San Francisco County	Solano County
2004	2003	2002	2001
Clif Poole	Les Daye	Roger Loper	Elwood Moger
Solano County	Trinity County	Monterey County	El Dorado County
	2000 - 12	2 Awards Presented	
Linda Baker	Sherry Chesny	Clarence Dilts	Marianne Jameson
Contra Costa County	Placer County	El Dorado County	Contra Costa County

Steve Phipps Humboldt County	Howard Rien Humboldt County	Russell Kiessig San Luis Obispo County	Mike Miller San Francisco County
Jack Sanger	Mickey Strang	Lila Thomas	Jack Zepp
Del Norte County	Humboldt County	Humboldt County	Marin County
1999	1998	1997	1996
Dan Taranto	Audrey Lynberg	Ginger Red	Val Cavey
Humboldt County	Los Angeles County	Orange County	San Diego County
1995	1994	1993	1992
Jack & Novella Kramp	Jody Scott	Anne Murphy	Pat Yeomans