What the award recognizes

Highest level of achievement by a CGJA member*


Who is eligible

A current member of CGJA.


Origin of award

Established on April 6, 1995, and renamed The Jack Zepp Lifetime Achievement Award in 2008, the title “Lifetime Achievement Award” was adopted in 2017.


Past recipients

2017 Marsha Caranci (Shasta)
2016 Karen Jahr (Shasta)
2012 Jerry Lewi (Ventura)
2011 Betty Mattea (Marin)
2009 Joann Landi (San Mateo)
2006 Sherry Chesny (Placer)
2003 Jack Zepp (Marin)
1995 Pat Yeomans


Award criteria

Exceptional and important work performed over an extended period of time to further the goals and purposes.


Submission requirements

The Board of Directors alone shall determine when, and to whom, this award is made (except as the board may otherwise direct). The board may request that the Awards Committee review and make recommendations concerning a board nominee for this Award. Any member may recommend a candidate to any Board member.



There are no deadlines. This is not an annual award.


When the award is announced

Where the Board approves the award, the Awards committee shall cause appropriate documentation and a plaque to be prepared for presentation as the board shall determine.

*Recipients of this Award shall henceforth not be required to pay membership dues, and shall be entitled to attend the CGJA Annual Conference without payment of the usual registration fee.